DIY Manicure

Before I get started feliz dia de independencia to all my fellow Latinas! Viva Mexico! Ahua!

I have been sporting bare nails since I went to Florida and I love it! I’m not sure what it is about having bare nails that makes it so chic! Even bare toes! I keep up with my nail grooming and I want to share that with you since I don’t have a polish post. This manicure routine has been the same for a while now and unlike my face and body I don’t need to change this with the seasons so it remains the same year-round.
image
I first start off with a hand buffing routine; using a mark. hand buff they no longer sell. I bought 2 before they stopped selling it. I like to start my hands with a polish to slough off any dead skin. Your hands are the most to have this since we use our hands for a lot of things.
image
image
image
image
Next in the routine is this little kit from Orly for hands that I got at Sally’s a long time ago. And there’s another buffing lotion. I like this one cause the little beads are micro beads.
image
image
image
image
It has a warming mask that I love! I put this one and leave it on until it gets cool.
image
image
image
image
Next I like to cut my nails down to a short oval shape and trim my cuticles. I like to apply oil to my cuticles before and after I trim them.
image
image
image
image
This is when I will apply a base coat, nail polish and a top coat. But I have been skipping this step for a while now.

Then after the polish is dry I will put on a super moisturizing lotion this one is a great one from that same kit.
image
image
In the mornings since my hands see a great deal of sun (especially while driving) I always put on a sunscreen.

During the day I lather on as needed a hand lotion that I keep in my purse. Now this one might change with the seasons since it is a fragrance kind of hand lotion. This one is from the body shop and it’s a summer scent, Mango.
image
I know this is a lengthy process but I just like rubbing it on and forgetting about everything to concentrate on something so small.

Stay fancy,

Ana Maggie

What did you think?

